Admin

About Us

The Steve MacLean Public School Council is an advisory body consisting of parents, teacher representatives, and staff of Steve MacLean Public School as well as members of the community that the school serves. 

Council Members for the 2020-2021 School Year

Name  Title  Email

Lynn Vanasse

Chair

chair@smpscouncil.org

Kyle Creelman

Vice-chair

vice-chair@smpscouncil.org

Atif Rashid

Treasurer

treasurer@smpscouncil.org

Natasha Poushinsky

Secretary

secretary@smpscouncil.org

Shayla Triemstra

OCASC Representative

ocasc-rep@smpscouncil.org

Sarah Blackadder

Pizza Lady

pizza@smpscouncil.org

Heather Thom

Fundraising Coordinator

fundraising@smpscouncil.org

Ahmad Teymouri

Volunteer Coordinator

volunteer@smpscouncil.org

Joanne Mahoney

Communications Coordinator | Webmaster

web@smpscouncil.org

Laurie Rogers

Parent-at-Large

parents@smpscouncil.org

Gaurav Suman

Parent-at-Large parents@smpscouncil.org

Brenda Trohon

 Parent-at-Large  parents@smpscouncil.org

 


Our Purpose

The primary purpose of our Council is to advise the principal and liaise with our Vice Principals as part of the implementation and maintenance of the school’s action plan. The principal and Vice-Principals will provide a monthly report/update for each meeting. This team seeks the advice of Council on a variety of matters and takes recommendations of Council into consideration as part of the continuous management of the school.

Council also conducts fundraising activities, special events, and programs to encourage parent volunteerism, all in the interest of improving pupil achievement and maximizing the benefit that our kids will enjoy from their years at Steve MacLean Public School.

Our initiatives include the pizza program, dances, school travel planning and our school partnership plan.

Our Intent

  • Improve pupil achievement, and to enhance the accountability of the education system to parents
  • Review the school’s action plan for improvement, contribute to the plan by offering advice and actively soliciting feedback from the parent community
  • Assist the principal in achieving the objectives set out in the school’s action plan for improvement
  • Facilitate effective, two-way communication between the principal and the parent community
  • Share information with parents and the community members, and seek their ideas and views about matters under consideration by Council
  • Promote parental involvement in the school’s success in as many areas as possible to enrich the school’s environment for our students
  • Take a lead role in celebrating the successes of the school
  • Conduct fundraising initiatives to support the objectives of the school

VISIT US ON FACEBOOK

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.