Admin

About Us

The Steve MacLean Public School Council is an advisory body consisting of parents, teacher representatives, and staff of Steve MacLean Public School as well as members of the community that the school serves. 

Council Members for the 2017-2018 School Year (Read Member Bios here)

Name Title Email
Dayna Robinson Co-chair chair@smpscouncil.org
Lynn Vanasse Co-chair chair@smpscouncil.org
Anke Adams Treasurer treasurer@smpscouncil.org
Shawna-Marie Girn Secretary secretary@smpscouncil.org
Genevieve Harte OCASC Representative ocasc-rep@smpscouncil.org
Sarah Blackadder Pizza Lady pizza@smpscouncil.org
Vacant Fundraising Coordinator fundraising@smpscouncil.org
Heather Thom Volunteer Coordinator volunteer@smpscouncil.org
Bilyana Anicic Communications Coordinator/Webmaster web@smpscouncil.org
Wendy Liu Special Events Coordinator events@smpscouncil.org
Monica Coyne Partnerships
Parent-at-Large
partnerships@smpscouncil.org
parents@smpscouncil.org
Yvette Besner Parent-at-Large parents@smpscouncil.org
Riti Gupta Parent-at-Large parents@smpscouncil.org

Our Purpose

The primary purpose of our Council is to advise the principal and liaise with our Vice Principals as part of the implementation and maintenance of the school’s action plan. The principal and Vice-Principals will provide a monthly report/update for each meeting.  This team seeks the advice of Council on a variety of matters and takes recommendations of Council into consideration as part of the continuous management of the school.

Council also conducts fundraising activities, special events, and programs to encourage parent volunteerism, all in the interest of improving pupil achievement and maximizing the benefit that our kids will enjoy from their years at Steve MacLean Public School.

For the 2017-2018 school year, our initiatives include the pizza program, dances, school travel planning and our school partnership plan.

Our Intent

  • Improve pupil achievement, and to enhance the accountability of the education system to parents
  • Review the school’s action plan for improvement, contribute to the plan by offering advice and actively soliciting feedback from the parent community
  • Assist the principal in achieving the objectives set out in the school’s action plan for improvement
  • Facilitate effective, two-way communication between the principal and the parent community
  • Share information with parents and the community members, and seek their ideas and views about matters under consideration by Council
  • Promote parental involvement in the school’s success in as many areas as possible to enrich the school’s environment for our students
  • Take a lead role in celebrating the successes of the school
  • Conduct fundraising initiatives to support the objectives of the school
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.